Jade River

I have been a part of documenting life for Jacob and Hannah since their pre- wedding days. And in the sea of options they have for photographers, my heart couldn’t be more blessed to see them through some of their biggest milestones and watch their life story unfold. This is the beauty in sticking with and finding your photographer… A special kind of quiet comfort exists and we become less hesitant to document all the things that deserve documenting. We say yes to it more than we say no, because we trust that our experience and the result will always bring us more joy than when we came in. That bond is sacred, I’ve learned. We grow together and I know you, I know your kids and a whole lot of love becomes rooted there.

I have witnessed Hannah and Jacobs marriage, but before that I knew them as a young couple who were just dating. I have had the pleasure of taking their family photos year after year and most recently I had the pleasure of being called on when their newest child was entering the world. So I hopped in my car on a beautiful, sunny, November day and drove to Walla Walla to hold and photograph their beautiful baby girl, Jade River. I was most importantly concerned with the holding her thing first, because Jade isn’t just a client for me- she is now part of my extended family and I will joyfully watch her grow up just as I have her brother the last few years.

If I can assume anything- she will make me work for the perfect photo, just like her brother. But what most people don’t know, is because of that- she will help me become better at what I do, just like all of the other beautiful families that have come before hers. It’s a humbling thought, really…

My job has so much meaning and purpose.

And in that, I find deep gratitude.

Leave a comment